Home > TV, Uncategorized > Ice Cream Social: TV Shows From Our Childhood

Ice Cream Social: TV Shows From Our Childhood


Ok, kids, Ice Cream Social will be what I will call a recurring series of subjects which will ask you (the reader) to post a comment with some input.  What?  Interactivity?  From the Interwebs?  Yes.

This episode will deal with our childhood.  More specifically, our better known babysitter, the TV.  I was born in the ’80s and in Puerto Rico, so what I had a chance to watch before I moved to the U.S. was probably a bit on the off side.  But, we’re geeks, so I guess we’re all a bit off…

Included are the TV shows that pretty much shaped all my writing and D & D campaigns.  Probably warped my fragile psyche too.  That would explain a few things.  Anyway, cozy up, relax, and geek out.

Galaxy Rangers.  If anybody knows a cooler sci-fi western than this should be shot.  With mind-bullets.

Captain Power.  What sick bastard thought to push a post-apocalyptic TV show on kids?  Oh yeah, J. Michael Straczynski!

Conan the Adventurer.  This is about as bad-ass as Saturday morning cartoons get.  Yeah, I know, it’s a sanitized version of Conan the Barbarian, but dammit he’s got a glowy sword!

Inhumanoids.  WTF?  A 50ft tall monster that randomly KILLS bystanders and turns them into zombies.  ON SCREEN.  This was a friggin’ cartoon.  For kids.  Liquid awesome.  Pick up the DVD.

Mighty Max.  A teenager gets told that his destiny is to save the world by an anthropomorphic fowl.  His weapon?  A magic baseball cap that opens wormholes.  I am not making this up.  He also has a bodyguard that eats the faces of demigods.  His name?  Norman.  Why is this awesome?  One person gets dead EVERY episode.  It got taken off the air because it was too dark for kids.  Also, Tim Curry is the voice of the main antagonist (*squee*).  Check this out.

So hit me up with some additions and/or comments, and let me know what you think.  This is an Ice Cream Social after all.

Discuss.

Categories: TV, Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. October 7, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Mighty Max was probably my fave from the list as a kid. I was always saddened that they never really finished the series properly. Inhumanoids also gets up there pretty high for the villains just being monstrous in their actions.

  2. jettwinlock
    October 7, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Captain Power I actually own the entire dvd set of this series. I got it in college at comic store that was selling bootleg copies of every show in the 80s and 90s. I use to think I just made it up in my head cause I couldn’t really remember it since I was so young. It made me feel good that this show did exist and wasn’t something I made up.

    The last episode kills off the chick in the series, the real only girl in this post apocalyptic world which too me just shows the world is doomed. The last scene is supposed to be this heart warming remembrance scene of her, where she dances with all her buddies on the show to some sad song. Is this sad, to me it just said she was a whore who pry slept with the entire crew of Captain Power.

    Overall this show was extremely dark, even for mature standards. The fact that Captain Power tricks an spy to give him information than leaves the spy at the hands of his boss that disintegrates him. Talk about dark, people died in the boatloads in this show.

  1. November 3, 2009 at 3:48 am

Leave a Reply

