Home > Gaming > Wii doesn’t need Achievements (Counter argument to IGN)

Wii doesn’t need Achievements (Counter argument to IGN)


After reading this IGN article http://wii.ign.com/articles/105/1053791p1.html about how Nintendo needs online achievements it got me thinking, does it? The answer is no. Mr Miyamoto even stated he doesn’t want to dangle a carrot in front a gamer to get him to play it. Instead have them play because they want to.

The IGN’s reporter response was well Miyamoto’s games are so good though they don’t need achievements unlike games that are not good or mediocre. So basically he’s stating he would rather have a crappy game and have a virtual trophy achievement for doing something in this game, than actually go out of the way and play a game that’s fun.

No one is going to know your gamertag (RippinHeads, I GunRunner I, Solidus NL) outside of that sphere, and unless you get soooo good at a game that you can make some money on it, you really have not too much to be proud of. The only people who have some worldly gaming achievements are people like Steve Wiebe and Billy Mitchell. Otherwise you will just be that guy who beat world of warcraft http://www.geek.com/articles/games/taiwanese-man-beats-world-of-warcraft-2009122/ and have nothing to show for it.

Are there achievements in Nintendo games, yes, if you get all the stars in Mario you usually get new levels not some lame trophy. My whole issue with online trophies is more about how people get impressed with themselves for either doing the most repetitive task for the most hours, collect the most junk or got the most head shots in a game for nothing more than digital emotional dependency. What happens to your score when the new FPS game comes out than you have to go through all this crap all over again just for that game.

Now I made some Geeky achievements in my time on games

I played Kingdom Hearts 2 for over 80 hours just so I could see how strong I could make sora with power ups I killed the boss so fast it made my head spin,
I beat Zelda OOT with only 3 hearts through 2 different play throughs, because it was a challenge and fun.
I beat a hard Pod Racing level in Star Wars Pod Racer for N64 Drunk (I’m proud of this one, cause I passed out near the end.)

But I don’t need this crap posted on some sort of online scoring system to show off other people I will never meet that I can play video games cause in the end NO ONE REALLY CARES.

Quick quiz
Who were the gamer tags names I just put on top before  with out looking?

If you don’t know they were the top players of Halo 3 as of 12/10/2009, Hopefully I just blew your mind.

Categories: Gaming Tags: , ,
  1. December 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    It wasn’t just that you bear the Pod Racing level drunk. It was that you spent a week trying to beat it normally, and were only able to beat it drunk.

    I love the point that no one really cares what your gamerscore is or knows your gamertag, and love the Halo 3 example.

    I will say that achievements are interesting, but honestly the only time I actually put effort into getting achievements is Steam games like Team Fortress 2 or Left 4 Dead(2) because they actually unlock me things in the game and are fun to accomplish. Like kill a heavy and steal his sandvich. There is no score system in Steam Achievements though so one would think this should have the opposite effect. Now there are a lot of people that will buy games simply because they have easy achievements to boost your Gamerscore, but honestly what’s the point?

    Now PSN/XBox Live could make it so that you can turn in Gamerscore points for things like Avatar clothes/Themes/Gamer Pics and the like. But if they can make money off something they’ll op for that.

    I don’t think I’d mind if Wii had achievements, but I don’t feel the system is lacking because they don’t exist.

  2. jettwinlock
    December 11, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    I think I spent a day trying to beat before getting drunk I was beating a bunch of levels right before it.

    The one thing I never understood about that game was the fact you could slide on the ice even though none of your pod had anything touching the bottom to create the frictionless results. It was like having a hover car slip on ice it doesn’t compute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

