Home > Comics > Blackest Night: Why the Hell you shouldn’t waste your money

Blackest Night: Why the Hell you shouldn’t waste your money


You know what all their screaming sounds like? $2.99 flushed down the toilet.

WARNING:  SPOILERS!

I have just finished Blackest Night #8.  I feel oddly dissappointed.

The introduction of the new “colored” Corps in the DCU tied to the emotional spectrum was, in my honest opinion, a welcome addition.  Even more compelling was the interaction between them.  Ranging from outright hatred to love-at-first-sight, the different emotions constantly rankled each other.

The biggest let down for me personally, was how death (or at least this particular manifestation of it) was handled.  It was more cosmic villain of the year and less philosophical.  I expected more.

The Brightest Day which will come directly afterwards, will feature all of the recent revivals.  Max Lord, Aquaman, Martian Manhunter, Kid Flash, ad nauseum.  Yes, death was defeated.  And so was its impact as a storytelling device.  If you remove death as a final resting place for our characters, what is there to fear?

Resurrecting all of these characters removes the impact that their deaths had on previous stories.  Final Crisis most important deaths?  Batman and Martian Manhunter.  Their deaths catalyzed the story and provided some much needed emotional ties.  Now they are gone, and so am I.

I don’t think that I will be reading much more DC anymore.  Red Robin and GL Corps are pretty much all I can stomach at the moment.  I can cheerfully pretend that Superman and the rest don’t exist and leave me with the stories I truly want to invest in.

Categories: Comics Tags:
  1. April 3, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    I agree that bringing back select few characters was really unsettling. I think I’ll wait till the end of Brightest Day to save my judgement though. Johns said there’s a specific reason why these people were brought back.

    • 5yphon
      April 4, 2010 at 12:10 am

      I know the reason. Squeezing cash out of the fanboys that hated how Aquaman & J’onn died. Grant Morrison at least gave Bats a great send off. But again that got retconned all to hell. I am saddened. But at least GL Corps will have more Larfleeze and Atrocitus!

  2. jettwinlock
    April 4, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    This is the soap opera crap of the comic industries, no matter what unless a character isn’t that popular and he dies than they have to bring him back no matter what. Heck even if they aren’t popular they bring them back. That’s the major problem I have with Marvel and DC, their so character based, that you will never have any emotions coming out of the characters since they depend on them to stay alive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

