Home > Comics, Fantasy, Gaming, Horror, Sci-fi, Technology > 5yphon’s Top 5 Games of All Time

5yphon’s Top 5 Games of All Time


What games define you as a person?

Not an easy answer as many of you know.  Today I was thinking this precise question.  The absolute quintessential games that speak exactly about your persona.

Let’s take a gander at my personality, these are my top 5.  In no particular order mind you.

#5 – Super Mario Kart (SNES)

I don’t want to brag, but I am friggin’ awesome at Mario Kart.  In college, I told a buddy that I have never lost a game.  Obviously, he challenged me.  We played on his laptop emulator.  “By sheer dumb luck” he forgot his other game pad.  He used his gamepad vs my keyboard.  I still kicked his ass.  Hard.

#4 – World of Warcraft (PC)

It’s pretty obvious why this is up here.  Let’s not shoot more dead horses.

#3 – Silent Hill 2 (PS2)

I am a horror buff.  To this day, in my opinion, the series has yet to capture the tenseness, and the fear that playing this work of bloody art gave me.

#2 – God Of War (PS2)

Not only do I own all the games, but I have the comics too.  Yes, there were comics.  It’s not that I like Kratos (he is pretty amazing), but as long as I can remember I have been a Greek Mythology geek.  This was a dream come true.  Or nightmare?

#1 – ActRaiser (SNES)

I dare you not like the music in this game.  Not only is this the absolute best 16-Bit music score I have ever heard, you get to play as GOD and kick the devil’s ass!  What’s not to like?

It’s primarily these games that made me want to make games.  I don’t know what that says about me, but I think I like who I am.

  1. January 18, 2011 at 3:29 am

    Great list. Silent Hill 2 is easily the most mind ruining of the bunch and still a personal favorite of mine. I have to admit though a list of five games that sum up who I am would be difficult. Do they sum up who you are as a person, as a gamer or just your gaming history? Are they favorites or games that meant something to you? Maybe it’s supposed to include all of it. Is such a thing even possible?

    I suppose if I had to throw down I’d pick:

    The Fallout Series (life is complicated and full of difficult choices)

    Castlevania (The original game… I still play it once a year)

    The Metal Gear Solid series (I once played it in a basement in January with the door open to “experience” the game more fully).

    Final Fantasy VII

    The Resident Evil series

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

